Beginnings

A friend of mine who is also beginning her first year teaching, recommended that we should create blogs and blog our way through our first year teaching. We have both noticed that while there are many resources out there for and about elementary school teachers, it seems as though Middle School teachers have less of a voice in the education blogosphere. Why not start a blog and discuss ideas, as well as the ups and downs we are likely to face as first year middle school teachers.

I will have a bit of a different experience as I am beginning my first year teaching at a magnet school. Here in the United States, magnet schools are public schools usually with specialized courses. These public schools draw students from all over the school district. Usually there is an application and a lottery to get in these schools. Needless to say, I have found out that most of my kids are going to be brilliant, with parents who might be a little overbearing. None of my previous experiences with student teaching or working as a substitute teacher have prepared me for this. I never had the honor to work with kids like those I will be teaching. I will have to be on my game at all times, and truly develop lesson plans that are fun, enriching, and entertaining.

I am excited to get started with this school year. Hopefully this blog can be informative to anyone thinking about being a teacher, is going through this process, has gone through it, or is curious about what it is like being a teacher. If no one reads this blog but myself, then it will be a way for me to work out my ideas, my achievements, and my failures.

“Teaching is not a lost art, but the regard for it is a lost tradition.” 

                                   ~Jacques Barzun

 

 

One thought on “Beginnings

  1. I can’t wait to read all about your experiences. You are going to be amazing!

Leave a Reply

