Classroom Theme

I have noticed that by the time students reach  middle school most teachers have chosen not to theme their room. Many classrooms are bare, minus a few motivational posters and reminders. I on the other hand, feel that the more welcoming the classroom, the more comfortable students are to be there.

Sixth grade is such a difficult age for students. They’re in a state of transition. They’re going through puberty. They’re awkward. I feel as though having a fun warm environment is essential.

Now, I’m not going to completely transform my classroom and over do it, but I do want to make cute. Let my students have a piece of making the classroom relatable to them, and a part in making it theirs. I am a huge movie buff, and a friend suggested to me if I had thought about using it as a classroom theme. I thought it was brilliant.

I have purchased some items including a bulletin board set that are all “Hollywood” themed. I haven’t quite made up my mind on what each thing will be used for, but I thought I would share what I have found. The Bulletin Board Set is called Lights, Camera, Action! and is by Carson-Dellosa Publishing. Have to give credit where credit is due.

Ok so I have some famous Los Angeles streets, as well as a big sign that I will be using for something.

Now the marquee I plan on having an entire bulletin board that will look like a marquee. So I probably won’t be using this one that is in the back. I also plan on making a clapboard as my welcome sign with my name, Room number, etc.

More famous streets that I will place around the classroom. I will also use the Oscar. I plan on using the Spotlights near my classroom library with some type of “Spotlight on Reading” sign. Also in the package, that I did not take a photo of are a pack of Hollywood walk of fame stars. They’re cute, but they give you about 20, I’m assuming to write Students names on. I have too many students to do that with. As a middle school teacher you get anywhere between 90 and over 100 students dispersed throughout your 4 to 5 class periods. I have thought about using another bulletin board and making larger Hollywood walk of fame starts with famous books that are movies.

Last thing found in the packet. More decorations that I will find a use for. Even if I can’t figure out what to do with it now, I’m sure later on I’ll be glad I have it when I can think of something.

Now Target has their $1 section which is always hit or miss when it comes to having items actually worth buying. To go along with my theme though, they do have plastic popcorn tubs:

I plan on using these to put supplies to pass out to students when they work in groups. They’re cute, it’s a way to keep things organized, and they go with my theme.

I still plan on doing a mini-theme of Harry Potter in a corner of my classroom. I can’t ignore the impact the books have had on kids and wanting to read. I love the books myself, and hope to use the first in the series in my curriculum next school year once my first year teaching is behind me.

Once I am in my classroom, which is in a short 2 weeks, I will take pictures of what the final product looks like in my room. If anyone has ideas or suggestions on anything, I would love to hear them.

“Children learn and remember at least as much from the context of the classroom as from the content of the coursework.”

~Lawrence Kutner

2 thoughts on “Classroom Theme

  1. Your theme sounds great! I saw that you subscribed to my blog, and I just subscribed to yours! I taught Kindergarten for 6 years, but this is only my 2nd year teaching 6th grade. I love it-you will, too! I will follow you this year and be there to support you and learn from you. 🙂 Good luck and have fun!!!

  2. Ms. S – Your room will be fitting (of your personality), inspiring (to your students), and age appropriate. I look forward to seeing it all come together!

Leave a Reply

