Characters Welcome

I feel bad that I have yet to blog through my first week of pre-planning. Although, part of me is glad that I didn’t. The end of my week made it better than the beginning. I had a not so wonderful first day, but followed by a good rest of the week. I love my school. I’m still not quite done getting my room the way I want it, but I thought I would share what I have done so far.

I only have 2 mini bulletin boards in my classroom. This is one of them. I have film bulletin board boarders that I placed around it. We aren’t allowed to put butcher paper in the background of our boards, and my board was painted blue so I kept it that way. I used my Hollywood walk of fame stars around my phrase “Characters Welcome.” A little TBS reference, but I thought it was cute, and during open house I enjoyed watching my students go up to the board and try to figure out what books the characters are from.

This is my current reading corner. I need to stuff some of the bean bags that a teacher at my school gave me. Those posters are of different reading genres. Now, my bookcase isn’t in this corner, but that was only because there isn’t enough room for it. I have it placed on one side of my room. I’m hoping to eventually do more with this area, but I figure it’s a start.

I have a few Hollywood signs (4 to be exact) I placed 2 on each side above my dry-erase and Smartboard. I haven’t finished with my Hollywood border on this mini board. I placed my calendar there, and my director’s chair. I also have my 2 student computers placed up front. The one on the left had to be there to be connected to the Smartboard. It just seemed to be easier to have both placed over there.

One of my favorite things is the inside of my door. I have a marquee with my name on it. I have my tickets and popcorn and my red carpet. My door is usually open, and I feel as though it’s a great way to welcome them into my room.

This is right outside my door. I wanted a cute welcome sign outside that was fun and easy for them to get to. I know they’re going to be confused that first week of school with getting to their classes.

These are just a few of the things that I have done so far. I will be heading to my school tomorrow, Sunday, for a few hours to finish it up. I’ll be sure to take some more pictures and I will try to blog again tomorrow evening as it is my last day before classes start up.

“A smile is the universal welcome. ” -Max Eastman

3 thoughts on “Characters Welcome

  1. Your room is coming together beautifully. Please keep the pictures coming!!!

  2. I am also a first year ELA teacher (and Science) to 6th graders! Last year I taught 7th grade Social Studies. I just set up my blog (www.myclassyroom.wordpress.com) for the same reason that you did. It is comforting to see someone in the same boat as I am. Good luck and maybe we will be able to share ideas via wordpress!

Leave a Reply

