Character Sketches

As we start to finish up The View from Saturday I had my students create a character sketch. They were given a rubric ahead of time, and when they turned it in, I had them grade themselves before I grade them. They were given the profile of the body to work with. They were to mount it on a sheet of colored paper. They had to have the character’s name on either the top or the bottom of their project. The character had to have 2 excerpts from the text that describes the character of the character. They then had to have at least 2 accessories that symbolize or belong with the character. They had to be creative, colorful, and I have to be able to understand it.

I had lots of students do an amazing job with it, and then I had some students who just slapped it together. They had three days in class to work on it and two nights at home. So there were no excuses and I was not lenient on grading them.

Here are some of the character sketches I hung up in the hallway:

To finish up this unit, we are having a Novel Tea on Friday. I’ve purchased tablecloths to cover the desks that I will be placing together where they will sit. I also have 2 long tables that will go in my room with a tablecloth over it. One long table with have the hot tea brewers, and the other will have the trays of food. The tables will have fresh flowers in vases. Hot tea in teapots. And each student will have a plate of food inspired from The View from Saturday. This includes Ruggalach, Cucumber Sandwiches, Oreos, etc. It’s going to be a great time. I have parents volunteering each class period to help out by serving food for the kids. I think the kids are going to really enjoy it.

I can’t believe I’m almost a month into my first year teaching. It’s been stressful and exhausting. I’ve still really enjoyed it. I’m starting a Reading Bowl club at school and that’s going to be even more to take on. I’ll be sure to try and blog more of what is happening.

One thought on “Character Sketches

  1. Beautiful work…by the students AND you!

Leave a Reply

